News & Events

Final UST Regulations from EPA, June 15, 2015 published

Bill Morris, TCEQ Compliance

Author: Marketing/Monday, August 3, 2015/Categories: EPA, TCEQ

Final UST Regulations from EPA, June 15, 2015 published in the Federal Register with an effective date of October 13, 2015

Be sure to go to the EPA website for more specific information.  

Where it says “2015 Final Regulations for Underground Storage Tanks” under “Documents”, “New”, click on “Federal Register (PDF)” for the final rules.

For an easier to read version of the new rules (same as in the Federal Register), go to “Highlights” on the right hand side, then click on “Docket for Revised UST Regulations”, then under “Primary Documents” click on “Underground Storage Tanks Secondary Containment and Operator Training Requirements”

On the right hand side check out other information in “Highlights” and “Resources”.  The “Must for USTs” in “Resources” is really a good document to clearly show what these new changes are and implementation dates.

The 2015 regulation changes certain portions of the 1988 underground storage tank technical regulation in 40 CFR part 280. The changes establish federal requirements that are similar to key portions of the Energy Policy Act of 2005. In addition, EPA added new operation and maintenance requirements and addressed UST systems deferred in the 1988 UST regulation. The changes include:

  • Adding secondary containment requirements for new and replaced tanks and piping
  • Adding operator training requirements
  • Adding periodic operation and maintenance requirements for UST systems
  • Adding requirements to ensure UST system compatibility before storing certain biofuel blends
  • Removing past deferrals for emergency generator tanks, airport hydrant systems, and field-constructed tanks
  • Updating codes of practice
  • Making editorial and technical corrections

The 2015 state program approval (SPA) regulation also updates SPA requirements in 40 CFR part 281 and incorporates the changes to the UST technical regulation listed above.

  • 38 SPA states plus the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico currently have SPA and have three years to reapply in order to retain their SPA status. Owners and operators in these states must continue to follow their state requirements until the state changes its requirements or until the state’s SPA status changes.
  • Owners and operators in 16 non-SPA states and territories must meet the federal requirements according to the schedule in the 2015 UST regulation. In addition, owners and operators will need to follow their state requirements.
  •  Indian country UST owners and operators must meet the federal requirements according to the schedule in the 2015 UST regulation.

Number of views (5050)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.


Upcoming Events